that baker girl

A girl, a whisk & an oven

Record Player cake

If your friend’s husband and birthday boy extraordinaire is so obsessed with music he has a long series of blog posts entitled ‘Memoirs of a Vinyl Junkie’, then there is only one kind of cake you could possibly make to celebrate the momentous occasion: a record player.

The cake is my classic chocolate cake recipe, filled with chocolate ganache and my home-made citrus marmalade.

As for the decorations, I started a couple of days in advance to give the fondant time to dry and to give myself some margin for error, because I did everything freehand.

For the needle attachment I used a drinking straw and rolled some grey fondant around it. Everything else is cut out of either black and grey fondant (the grey accent pieces were painted with silver lustre dust dissolved in some clear alcohol). I used the same painting technique for the letters.

When I filled and covered the cake in ganache, I covered the entire cake with brown fondant, then cut out a black fondant disk and used a boning tool to score concentric circles. The image on the record is the logo of the birthday boy’s favorite record company, and I used a print-out as a stencil to cut everything out of black and white fondant.

I wish I’d had more time to finesse the cake a bit more – rectangular cakes are notoriously hard to get right, and this one looks a bit wonky – but in the end it didn’t turn out half bad!

About telethonrunner

I watch copious amounts of TV and write about it. I also watch movies and am ridiculously addicted to cooking shows.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2017 by in cakes, chocolate and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow that baker girl on WordPress.com