that baker girl

A girl, a whisk & an oven

Unicorn extravaganza!

This was quite the busy weekend! First there was the Dior perfume cake, then this colorful little number, requested for a beautiful little girl’s 5th birthday party.

Now, I can’t take credit for the design, as I simply tried to reproduce what the birthday girl’s mom had showed me. You can find the original here (and kudos to Cakes for Tiffin for the amazing creation!).

Having just one photo to go on, I think I did a decent job replicating the ‘My Little Pony’ rainbow cake. Had I not stashed my old little pony dolls away years ago, I would have had a 3D model for the figurine and made my life a hell of a lot easier. As it was, it took a lot of trial and error and a full day’s work to come up with the cute little unicorn.

As for the rest of the cake, underneath all that colorful fondant is my standard chocolate cake with chocolate ganache filling and chocolate buttercream frosting (find the recipes here). The fondant details were detail work, which is quite time consuming but actually therapeutic.

Hopefully the little birthday girl enjoys her extravagant cake as much as her parents did when they saw it!

About telethonrunner

I watch copious amounts of TV and write about it. I also watch movies and am ridiculously addicted to cooking shows.

2 comments on “Unicorn extravaganza!

  1. Pingback: Rainbow dots & stripes banana chocolate cake | that baker girl

  2. Pingback: Unicorn cake! | that baker girl

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2017 by in cakes, chocolate and tagged , , , , , .
Follow that baker girl on WordPress.com